SCHOOL REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
- Birth certificate or other proof of date of birth.
- Florida certificate of immunization (HRS Form 680). Additional immunizations are required for all children prior to entering 7th grade. The additional shots are boosters for MMR, DPT, and Hepatitis B. The Hepatitis B series takes six to seven months to complete; allow time to finish the series prior to entering 7th grade.
- Physical examination certificate (HRS Form 3040) signed by a licensed examiner (within 12 months prior to enrollment/registration).
- Proof of residency (utility bill with parent/guardian's name and home address on it, rental agreement/lease, etc.).
- Child's social security number.
- Evidence of domicile (required if parents/guardians have lived in
Florida less than one year, are not in the military, or have not purchased an area home).
- Previous school record such as a report card, test scores.
In Florida, kindergarten attendance is mandatory. A child must be five years of age on or before September 1st of the school year in order to be admitted to kindergarten.
Children who are six years of age on or before September 1st and who have completed a successful year of kindergarten, (public or non-public) may be admitted to first grade anytime during the school year.
Florida law requires school attendance of all six to 16 year old children.
Students must earn 24 credits in grades 9-12 in a planned program, pass the state's minimum competency tests, and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 1.5 in order to graduate from high school. The Florida legislature has approved legislation raising the cumulative GPA to 2.0 for graduation and to participate in a school band or team sport. All incoming freshman for the school year beginning August 1997 must meet the new grade point average.
For more information on individual schools, information is available from each of the districts or the individual school sites.